City Council District 1 Candidate: Jason Espero

City Council District 1 Candidate:

Jason Espero

My roots in West Oahu began in 1989 when my family moved into Ewa by Gentry.  I started my education at Ewa Beach Elementary, and then transferred to Pearl Ridge Elementary in Aiea when my parents got divorced.  Basically, I grew up in Aiea and Ewa Beach.  Following graduation from Aiea High School, I attended two years at Menlo College.  I returned home to earn an Associate degree at Leeward Community College.  Continuing my education, I earned my Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Hawaii at Manoa.

Honolulu City Council District 1 Candidate Jason Espero

After graduating from UH, my first job was working with the homeless at Pai’olu Kaiaulu Emergency Shelter in Waianae. Currently, I am involved with the homeless as the Next Step Shelter Coordinator for Waikiki Health Center.  Homelessness is a major issue in my district and on Oahu.  Furthermore, my direct experience working with the homeless and knowledge of the challenges they face will help me with finding viable solutions to end homelessness.  My compassion for others fuels my desire to serve.

I am running for office because I grew up around government and have seen how government can make a positive difference in our community and in people’s lives.  My mother is a dedicated public school teacher; my father is a veteran lawmaker in the State Senate; my brother is an officer in the U.S. Marine Corps and my grandfather is retired from the Navy.  I am concerned about the future of our district and want to participate with you in the decisions which will affect us.

I bring energy, enthusiasm, and a strong desire to enhance the quality of life for all residents on Oahu and in our community.

I am a strong supporter of a rail transit system from West Oahu to downtown.  Rail will create thousands of jobs and provide another transportation option for our commuters as our population continues to grow.  Transit-oriented development (TOD) will provide jobs, services, housing, and opportunities for our residents.

Our district is known as the new city, the Second City.  As new homes are built for our residents, it is important that the proper infrastructure is in place; roads, sewers and parks in particular.

My favorite past times are surfing at White Plains Beach, spending time with my family and participating in church ministry.  My faith and family values make up my foundation.

I know it will not be an easy task, but I look forward to working with you and seeking your input on the issues that affect us.  Together, we can strive to make a difference in our community for future generations.  If you would like to learn more about me, you can visit my website www.esperoforcitycouncil.com.

I humbly ask for your support and consideration.

Mahalo,

Jason Espero

Leave a Reply

